Many citizens of the former Soviet Union associate very special memories with the songs on this CD since they grew up with them. These are the songs of their adolescence. Music they listened to on their transistor radios on the window sills and sounds from their treasured recording albums - records with its characteristic cracking noise. Almost everyone was accustomed to the lyrics which were known by heart. Most could sing along, no matter how simple or pathetic; how sentimental or sad. Juri Artamonov grew up with this music. Therefore, it is not astonishing that he feels a close bond with these compositions as they are the music of his childhood and youth even though most of the songs were composed long before his birth.

The idea to transform these Russian “traditionals“ into swing style has been present for a long period of time. In 2005, Juri shared his plans with the bass player, Martin Gehrmann from Osnabrueck, who was also dedicated to Swing in the tradition of Oscar Peterson. Martin supported Juri’s desire to perform music from the Soviet movies in swing style, fresh and new.

Aufnahmesession zu Moskauer Fenster

In 2007 Jochen Metze from Muenster joined the two musicians. The drummer was the ideal accompanist for the project „Moscow Windows“. On 16 February 2007, the three musicians met for their session in a studio. 16 compositions, most of them from the Soviet era, were selected by Juri Artamonov. The result: swinging, sometimes soft, often sparkling and well sophisticated versions of the famous “classics“ of Russian Jazz.

Konzept

Viele ehemalige Sowjetbürger verknüpfen ganz besondere Erinnerungen an die Lieder auf dieser CD, denn sie sind mit ihnen aufgewachsen: es sind die Lieder aus den Filmen ihrer Jugend, Musik aus dem Radio auf der Fensterbank, Musik, die von gut gehüteten Schallplatten mit unvermeidlichem Knistern erklang. Die Texte kannte man auswendig und jeder sang sie mit, ganz gleich, ob sie banal oder pathetisch, kitschig oder tief traurig waren. Auch Juri Artamonov ist so aufgewachsen und so überrascht es nicht, dass er, obwohl fast alle Lieder lange vor seiner Geburt entstanden sind, ein ganz besonderes Faible für diese Kompositionen entwickelte.

Die Idee, die Lieder seiner Heimat eines Tages in swingenden Versionen zu präsentieren bestand also schon länger, als er 2005 den Osnabrücker Bassisten Martin Gehrmann kennenlernte, der mit ihm die Leidenschaft für eine Swingstilistik in der Tradition eines Oscar Peterson teilte.

Aufnahmesession zu Moskauer Fenster

Martin Gehrmann unterstützte sofort begeistert das Konzept, sowjetische Filmmusik in einem swingendem Gewande neu zu interpretieren. 2007 wurde dann mit Jochen Metze aus Münster der ideale Schlagzeuger für das Trio gefunden, welches das Album "Moskauer Fenster" einspielen sollte. Am 16. Februar 2008 traf man sich zur Aufnahmesession. 16 Kompositionen, die meisten aus sowjetischer Zeit, waren von Juri Artamonov ausgewählt worden. Herausgekommen sind swingende, manchmal zarte, oft perlende und stets geschmackvolle Versionen von berühmten Klassikern der russischen Jazz-Musik.