Band

The name of this formation is based on its founder, Muscovite Jazz Pianist Juri Artamonov. In his home town, he was student of the famous Jazz pianist and exceptional lecturer Evgeny Gretschischev. He studied master classes of “composition“ and “arrangement” with Prof. Igor Brill. As a newcomer, Juri Artamonov gained his first professional experiences in bars and Jazz clubs in the Russian Capitol. These experiences made him a highly requested Jazz pianist after his move to the West in 2000.

On one hand, Juri Artamonov is devoted to the virtuosity of an Oscar Peterson, and on the other, he plays with the sophisticated elegance of a Bill Evans. His instrumental skills range from the powerful play with the force of Mc Coy Tyner to that of Ahmad Jamal’s humorous and ironic style. His extraordinary technique always remains a means, never an ends by itself. It is always well fitted in the sense of "Keep Swinging".

Juri Artamonov`s two companions have been playing together since their time at the Conservatory in Enschede (Netherlands): Martin Gehrmann from Osnabrück is perfect bass player to accompany the play of Juri Artamonov. Both of them have a strong passion for the Oscar Peterson Trio, swing Style. Martin Gehrmann provides a solid foundation to the virtuous play of Juri Artamonov. This complimentary musical arrangement holds also true for drummer, Jochen Metze, from Munster. Playing mainly with brushes and operating rarely in the foreground, he is the gentle supporter for the swing with the laid back sound of this trio.

Juri Artamonov

Martin Gehrmann

Jochen Metze

Band

Namensgeber dieses Swing-Trios ist der aus Moskau stammende Jazzpianist Juri Artamonov. In seiner Heimatstadt studierte er bei den berühmten Jazzpianisten und herausragenden Pädagogen Evgeny Gretschischev und Prof. Igor Brill Jazzpiano, Komposition und Arrangement. Als Pianist in den Bars und Jazzclubs der russischen Hauptstadt sammelte er bereits als junger Mann die Erfahrungen, die ihn nach seiner Übersiedlung in den Westen im Jahre 2000 schnell zu einem gefragten Jazzpianisten werden ließen.

Juri Artamonov hat einerseits den virtuosen Swing eines Oscar Peterson aufgesogen, andererseits die geschmackvolle Eleganz eines Bill Evans. Er kann sowohl zupackend kraftvoll wie McCoy Tyner als auch humorvoll augenzwinkernd wie Ahmand Jamal klingen. Seine phänomenale Technik bleibt dabei immer Mittel zum Zweck, denn sie wird geschmackvoll dosiert, immer im Sinne des "KeepSwinging".

Seine beiden Mitstreiter kennen sich bereits aus gemeinsamen Studientagen am Conservatorium in Enschede (Niederlande): Martin Gehrmann aus Osnabrück ist genau der Bassist, der zu Juri Artamonov passt. Er teilt mit ihm die Begeisterung und Leidenschaft für die Stilistik eines Oskar Peterson Trios und schafft für das virtuose Spiel des Pianisten gerne ein solides Fundament. Dasselbe gilt für den Münsteraner Schlagzeuger Jochen Metze. Meist mit Besen und selten sich in den Vordergrund spielend ist er ein Garant dafür, dass die swingende Leichtigkeit des Trios nie verlorengeht.

Juri Artamonov

Martin Gehrmann

Jochen Metze